The Animal Welfare Initiative

– promotes greater animal welfare in livestock farming
– inspects livestock farms
– issues the AWI seal
– promotes innovation in livestock farming
See the criteria for joining the Initiative here
0

million animals each year already benefit from the Animal Welfare Initiative.

0

farms and agricultural businesses already participate in the Initiative.

Icon turkey Initiative Tierwohl

Icon pig Initiative Tierwohl

Icon poultry Initiative Tierwohl

Partners introduce themselves

How can you actively contribute to the Initiative?

As a consumer

As a customer of one of our retail or gastronomy partners, you should be able identify which meat comes from an Animal Welfare Initiative farm. This is the purpose of our seal on poultry products and increasingly on pork products. By purchasing a product with our label, you’re showing your interest in improving animal welfare.

As a farmer

Improve the conditions for animals on your farm. If your farm participates in the Animal Welfare Initiative, you are obliged to comply with criteria that go beyond the legal requirements. The financial expense incurred by this is compensated by the Animal Welfare Initiative, meaning that your competitive advantage is not affected.

How the funding works

Livestock owners that participate in the Animal Welfare Initiative receive cost compensation from their direct customers for the additional expense incurred by the implementation of the animal welfare criteria. They pass this additional cost along the value chain to the retail and gastronomy sectors.

Pig

Poultry

Die Initiative Tierwohl

– fördert mehr Tierwohl in der Nutztierhaltung
– überprüft die Tierhaltung
– vergibt das Siegel
– fördert Innovation in der Tierhaltung
Hier geht‘s zu den Kriterien
0

Millionen Tiere profitieren bereits jährlich von der Initiative Tierwohl.

Siegel der Initiative Tierwohl
0

landwirtschaftliche Betriebe nehmen bereits teil.

Icon Pute Initiative Tierwohl

Icon Schwein Initiative Tierwohl

Icon Huhn Initiative Tierwohl

Partner stellen sich vor

Wie können Sie einen aktiven Beitrag leisten?

Als Verbraucher

Als Kunde bei einem unserer Handels- oder Gastropartner können Sie erkennen, welches Stück Fleisch aus einem Tierwohl-Betrieb kommt. Dafür finden Sie auf Geflügelfleischprodukten und zunehmend auch auf Schweinefleischprodukten dieses Siegel. Mit dem Kauf zeigen Sie Ihr Interesse an mehr Tierwohl.

Als Landwirt

Setzen Sie selbst mehr Tierwohl um. Mit der Teilnahme Ihres Betriebs an der Initiative Tierwohl verpflichten Sie sich zur Einhaltung von Kriterien, die über gesetzliche Anforderungen hinausgehen. Der finanzielle Aufwand dafür wird von der Initiative Tierwohl kompensiert, sodass Ihre Wettbewerbsfähigkeit nicht beeinträchtigt wird.

So funktioniert die Finanzierung

Tierhalter in der Initiative Tierwohl erhalten eine Kostenkompensation für den Mehraufwand, den sie durch die Umsetzung der Tierwohl-Kriterien haben, von ihren direkten Abnehmern. Diese geben den Mehrpreis entlang der Wertschöpfungskette bis in den Handel und die Gastronomie weiter.

Schwein

Geflügel